Top 7 ocga no insurance

1 Ethics in UM/UIM Cases – Lueder, Larkin & Hunter

  • Author:
  • Published Date: 05/08/2022
  • Review: 4.91 (678 vote)
  • Summary: Conflict of interest issues often arise in insurance defense cases due to the … (“The statute [O.C.G.A. § 33-7-11] shows the choice to participate or not 
  • Matching search results: The second downside to answering in the name of the tortfeasor involves subrogation and the risk of a conflict of interest. If a UM carrier answers the plaintiff’s complaint in the name of the named defendant, the UM carrier may not assert a …

2 Keeping The (Good) Faith: A Survey Of The Law For Avoiding Bad Faith In Handling Insurance Claims

  • Author:
  • Published Date: 05/06/2022
  • Review: 4.79 (266 vote)
  • Summary: “Under OCGA § 33-4-6, ‘bad faith’ of the insurer means a frivolous and … Penalties for bad faith are not authorized where the insurance company has any 
  • Matching search results: “An insurance company may be liable for damages to its insured for failing to settle the claim of an injured person where the insurer is guilty of negligence, fraud, or bad faith in failing to compromise the claim.” “In deciding whether to settle a …

3 What If I Get into a Car Accident in Georgia and I Dont Have Insurance?

What If I Get into a Car Accident in Georgia and I Dont Have Insurance?
  • Author:
  • Published Date: 11/03/2021
  • Review: 4.39 (469 vote)
  • Summary: If you get into a car accident in Georgia and you do not have insurance, you can face fines, license suspension, and other penalties. O.C.G.A. § 40-6-10, 
  • Matching search results: Did you suffer injuries and property damage because of a car accident caused by a negligent driver here in Georgia? You can still seek compensation even if you get into a car accident in Georgia and you do not have car insurance. An auto accident …

4 Insurance: Locating and Identifying and Accessing Available Coverage

  • Author:
  • Published Date: 09/03/2022
  • Review: 4.2 (474 vote)
  • Summary: O.C.G.A § 33-3-28 (Georgia statute permitting pre-litigation … Generally, such omnibus insurance clauses provide that not only is the owner of the vehicle 
  • Matching search results: In all cases involving a pedestrian accident it is essential for an attorney to thoroughly evaluate all potential insurance coverage which may be available to their client. In doing so, the first step is to evaluate and identify all causes for the …

5 OCGA 9-11-67.1 Georgia Policy Limits Demand Statute

  • Author:
  • Published Date: 05/28/2022
  • Review: 4.14 (292 vote)
  • Summary: As a result, if a personal injury attorney does not comply with these new rules, the insurance company cannot be in “bad faith” because the demand does not 
  • Matching search results: Earlier this year the Georgia legislature passed House Bill 336, which was a compromise between plaintiffs’ lawyers and insurance companies regarding settlement demands. The new law, codifies the Holt settlement demand process. The new law is known …

6 Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Georgia

  • Author:
  • Published Date: 03/31/2022
  • Review: 3.81 (243 vote)
  • Summary: · Penalties for driving without insurance ; First Offense, $25 lapse fee; $60 reinstatement fee, Driver’s license and registration suspended for 60 
  • Matching search results: If your insurance is terminated or expired, your carrier will electronically notify the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS). You are given 30 days from the date of the expiration to provide proof of new insurance. If the new insurance …

7 Driving Without Insurance In Georgia

  • Author:
  • Published Date: 01/24/2022
  • Review: 3.74 (279 vote)
  • Summary: Under O.C.G.A. § 40-6-10, it is a criminal offense to operate a motor vehicle without insurance on the vehicle. You also may not knowingly allow another 
  • Matching search results: After a first conviction in 5 years, DDS will suspend your license for 60 days. After 60 days, you may apply for reinstatement of your license. For reinstatement, you must supply proof that you have prepaid for a six-month minimum insurance policy. …
See also  Top 10+ state farm insurance ct